New in Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal Beta 1 full details here

Rebuild a user account in OS X

You could see a couple of issues with OS X which could deter in making some changes in configurations options and the beforehand accessible resources. One of these examples of this particular behavior is that your admin account is no more capable to validate the access the system preference settings even when you see them listed as the admin account. The other such peculiar issue is that it you do not get the opportunity to change the setting of the account like the log in window image, password, or the custom home folder location.

Addressing the problem typically

In order to get rid of these problems, few of the users could think of adjusting the account properties via some manual way just to secure the integrity of the account and fix the issue. However, trying such manipulations can prove fatal if you end up doing things in a wrong way. The wrong settings of the account files could simply corrupt the accounts having these issues and can even prevent you to log inside the account or could also corrupt the other accounts and wreck the system badly.

The right way out

If you see your account working incorrectly while the others are simply working in a right way, then trying one easy approach can save you from the hassles. You simply have to wipe out the directory structure and rebuilt it from the said account. It may appear a difficult task, however, fixing this issue in OS X is very simple to accomplish. Also, you do not have to use much of the Terminal without risking your settings or important data over the system.

To carry out this task, you simply require just one working admin account over your system; however, if the corrupted account happens to be only admin account, then you are supposed to create the other admin account. Sadly, to create any new admin account with the OS X platform would usually demand for any current working admin account. However, this step could be prevented by simply enforcing the OS X setup assistant in order to function while your system gets booted the very next time. In order to carry out this task, simply follow these three steps given below:

Step 1- Simply reboot in a single user mode by giving the command and by pressing the S key at the same time during the startup process.

Step 2- Then simply mount the filesystem as read/write by running this command given under.

mount -uw /

Step 3- Now, you simply need to run this given command given below in order to get rid of the OS X Setup complete flag.

rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

Once this is done, you now have to enter ‘reboot’ over the command prompt which will then restart your system and start the OS X setup assistant tool. This could be now used to generate all together a new user account. Just remember to use some unique name other than the account you are looking forward to restore.

Some further actions

The moment you have created a new admin account over your system, simply log into it and visit to the Accounts or Users & Groups system preferences and then allocate your problematic account. Now, click over the lock to confirm the changes and then select the account and press the minus key (over your keyboard) to simply delete it.

You will then get these options promoted over the screen – save the home folder in a disk image, delete the home folder, and don’t change it and leave it in its current location. For this case, you need to leave out the folder as it is by clicking over the last option (don’t change it and leave it in its current location) followed by clicking over the button- Delete User.

The final step

Now, you are supposed to go to /Macintosh HD/Users/ directory and simply find out the home folder for your deleted user. If you see the name as deleted, simply edit it and remove all these components. In this way, you remain with a small username of the account. Then you have to revert to the Users & Groups system preferences and remake the account. Make sure you use the very same names for the two short and full account names.

Once you finish this step, you will see the system showing you the current home folder which is actually the same name appearing as a new user account. The moment you click over the ‘Use Existing Folder’ (prompted as a warning message), you will finally restore your account. Once you set up your account, simply try logging out followed by logging inside the system in order to test the functionality to make sure everything is working smoothly.

Wrapping up

Looking at these steps of rebuilding a user account in OS X could appear to be difficult, however, once you start following the instructions things would prove simple for you. So before it scares you, try them out if you want to rebuild a user account in OS X.

About The Author: Margaret is a writer/blogger. She loves reading, writing about most expensive items. Recently she buys a most expensive iPod.