Cloud computing has become very common in modern world. That offers excellent services to us and all individuals are getting benefited. Icloud photo stream launched by Apple has many excellent features but still maintenance wise this need to handle with precaution and a login is much required at iCloud.com. Reason is as photos are taken with iOS devices or imported from digital camera to computer, automatically icloud uploads all photos from photo stream to icloud which sometimes annoying and would like to clear it whenever required. Let us see some tricky steps how to clear.
Access via icloud.com
Separate login is required for each individual and while clearing the iCloud photo stream, one need to be online always and as exists for other accounts, user names reflects on right corner on top of the page. It is not mandatory to have the same account id for icloud account and iTunes store account. ITunes have excellent feature in automatically downloading for multiple number of times. All are configurable steps.
Required software in devices that support delete from photo stream
- iOS 5.1 or later is the supported one in iPhone or iPad
- For Windows 7 or Windows Vista, it should have iCloud Control Panel
Software Update 5.0 or later is required for Apple TV (2nd generation or later)
Navigational steps for clearing images
Navigation is via user name click and a pop up appears on the screen. In the popup, one need to click on advanced tab and that will lead to Reset Photo Stream page and on click of that reset popup appears. Very important thing is turning off the photo stream for each device which will disappear the images from the photo stream tab. Navigational steps is somewhat different from the traditional methods.
Ways to clear via iPhone and iCloud
From settings option of iPhone, turn off the photo stream. A confirmation dialogue box wills popup for asking permission to delete the photos from iPhone device. As we are progressing to delete, no need to turn it back again. Instead via iCloud, one need to follow the steps as discussed under navigational steps. From iCloud either the entire photo stream can be erased or reset but not allow to do an individual photo.
Single or multiple copies of photo Stream photos that got saved to Camera Roll on an iOS device or that got imported into events in either iPhoto or Aperture library will remain as it is and will not get deleted when it is deleted via photo stream. Similarly photos that do not belong to My Photo Stream all will not be deleted. On the other hand, if the photos that get deleted from photo stream on PC, if the devices are having the one mentioned under required software section, they will get deleted one but not copies.
Photo stream is an additional service only and the synchronization is established only when the account at iCloud is logged off. One advantage is even entire photo stream from icloud.com is reset, in the devices it will not reflect immediately.
About The Author: Margaret is a writer/blogger. She loves writing, travelling and blogging. She contributes in Equity Trust Company Complaints